Webinar- Why research administrators should care about knowledge mobilization and what you can do about it

David Phipps, RIR York, will be hosting a webinar on February 14 as part of CAURA’s webinar series. See below for more details:

CAURA Webinar Session 34 Presents:

Why research administrators should care about knowledge mobilization and what you can do about it

With
David J. Phipps, Ph.D., MBA
Director, Research Services & Knowledge Exchange, York University

Tuesday February 14
10am PT/ 11am MT/ noon CT/ 1pm ET/ 2pm AT/ 2.30pm NT

Every SSHRC Insight Grant now needs a knowledge mobilization strategy. CIHR Partnerships in Health Systems Improvement is all about knowledge translation: CIHR KT Supplements, SSHRC Public Outreach, SSHRC PG, PDG etc. Also funders like IDRC, CHSRF and many health charities are looking for some form of knowledge mobilization/ translation/ exchange (chose your term….they all mean the same thing).

What is this thing, knowledge mobilization? David Phipps will provide details about developing a Knowledge Mobilization Unit in the Office of Research Services. He will speak about the services this unit provides and the metrics that they track. This webinar is based on a paper recently published in Scholarly & Research Communications “A Report Detailing the Development of a University-Based Knowledge Mobilization Unit that Enhances Research Outreach and Engagement”. Besides, it’s on Valentine’s Day. And who doesn’t love their job enough to learn about Knowledge Mobilization?

Please see the Webinar Poster for further details and how to use the Elluminate Collaborate Webinar Software.

One Response to “Webinar- Why research administrators should care about knowledge mobilization and what you can do about it”

[…] In addition to building capacity on campus, York has been asked to provide a KMb webinar to the Canadian Association of University Research Administrators.  This national webinar will help raise awareness of the emerging role of KMb for university researchers and their research partners.  The webinar will be help on February 14 at 1:00 EST.  Information about registration can be found here. […]

Leave a Comment